The Coaster

Hall Of Fame To Induct 13

The Coaster — May 19, 2016

Thirteen alumni of Asbury Park High School will be inducted into the Hall of Fame May 20 in ceremonies to be held at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel in Asbury Park.

This dinner will mark the seventh induction ceremony since the program began in 2003. Thirteen new plaques will be installed on the" Wall of Fame" located in a hallway in the high school, each of which contains a photograph and brief biography of the inductee.

Former Mayor of Asbury Park, Founder and Chair of the Hall of Fame, Carl Williams, has said,"Many of our current and prior inductees have similar backgrounds and circumstances of present APHS students and have overcome tremendous hardships to achieve great success in the professions, public service, commerce, education and the military."

The inductees are invited to speak to the students earlier in the day.

"We have found that meeting with these people with similar backgrounds to today's students has provided inspiration and role modeling", Williams said.

The 2016 inductees are: Dr. Barry Anton, Class of 1965, Psychologist and Past President of the American Psychological Association, a professional organization with 135,000 members: Nicholas Baldino, deceased. Class of 1941, Senior Vice President of Chemical Bank and a member of the Fordham University Athletic Hall of Fame; James Barrett, Class 1978, Military Police Corps Regimental Command Sergeant Major, the most senior Military Police noncommissioned officer in the United States Army; Roberta Beauford, Class of 1970, Educator and Principal of the Thurgood Marshall Elementary School as well as a number of supervisory positions in the Asbury Park school system; Dr. Ronald Crystal, Class of 1958, Physician and world renowned pioneer in the field of gene therapy; Benjamin S. Danskin, deceased, Class of 1943, Wall Township Mayor, Monmouth County Treasurer and Freeholder and Chairman of the Monmouth County Republican Committee for 13 years; Valerie Echols-Gardner,Class Of 1982, Colonel, United States Army and Senior manager of Logistics, New York Blood Center; Derrick Griggs, Class of 1993, Chief Operating Officer of the Affordable Housing Alliance, Monmouth County's largest non-profit community development organization; Leroy Hayes, Class of 1969, teacher and coach in Asbury Park schools for 42 years and football Coach of the Year in 1984; Stan Parker, Class of 1971, teacher and coach, first big time school football scholarship winner; Phyllis Salow-Kaye, Class of 1965, Executive Director of New Jersey Citizen Action, the state's largest and oldest multi-issue, membership based organization fighting for economic justice; Thomas F. Shebell, deceased, Class of 1923, City Council in Asbury Park from 1949 to 1957 when he was elected Mayor, serving from 1957 until 1965; Dr. Helen M. Smits, Class of 1954, Physician and former Deputy Administrator and Chief Medical Officer at the Centers for Medicare and Medical Services.

For more information, contact

Top Top | NJCA in the News | NJCA Homepage